Membership Bonus for 2017

HWCC is providing all new and returning members a bonus for 2017. As well as weekly racing throughout the year, club support for QRTS Elite team, Club Champions jerseys, junior coaching, track coaching, annual presentation night, Century rides, fully sponsored State Teams Time Trial entry, Open track and Anzac 25 events, social TdF viewing nights – your club is offering all 2017 members a complimentary HWCC T shirt. To collect, all you need do is complete a volunteering duty, or come and race, and you can collect a Tee. (personal shopping only!!)
Willow has just ordered the shirts and they should be here before Xmas ready for 2017 delivery to members.

Dan Wilson wins Noosa Triathlon!

Long time club member Dan Wilson produced the goods to win the 2016 Noosa Triathlon, after being runner-up twice! This is a fantastic result for Dan and caps off his Olympic distance racing as he is moving to half-ironman distance. Parents Wayne and Kerry were both in Noosa and got to see his win. Congratulations Dan!

Read this sports Report from SBS.

photo courtesy of @firstoffthebike

Vale  Alan  Absalom 

It is with sadness that we  report the passing of Alan  Absalom, on Tuesday 25th November, at the age of 67 yrs.
Alan was a past member of the Club, having joined and raced during the period  2006  until 2014, when upon retirement, he decided to change his riding activities to a recreational and social level.  He could often be seen riding with his local Caboolture group, doing the Redcliffe – Scarborough loop.   For those who knew Alan, he was a good strong rider, always willing to do his share of the pace, but at the same time watching for anyone who may be struggling, when he would drop back to check if they were ok, and to encourage them to keep trying.
In his days of youth, he played AFL football in Tasmania, later becoming a successful coach, and  along the way, leading up to his move to Brisbane, became an avid Geelong supporter, and with his close friend Ernie Butler, never missed an AFL game at the Gabba. 

Tour de France Tipping Comp

Our 2016 Tour de France Tipping Competition has been run and won.

We had three people select the top three riders: Murray McClymont, Nicholas Free, and Mark McClennan. Fless did a random draw and Nicholas Free was the lucky winner of the $200 prize!


* Froome, Contador, Quintana
Jarryd Whitaker, Bryan Ferris, Darrell Henry, Adrian Cook
* Froome, Contador, Aru
Tim Munro
* Froome, Quintana, Rodriquez
Paul Worroll
* Froome, Quintana, Porte
Stephen Lowe, Les Preston, Grant Rowan, Warren Forbes, Andrew James, Barrie Mead
* Froome, Quintana, Aru
Suz Davis, Marly Harrison, Mark Creaby, Graeme Woolnough, Elwyn Prenzler, Pete Gumbley, Jenni Eason, Gerry Forde
* Froome, Quintana, Pinot
Ashley Dunstan, Seb Vejby, Gary Reddacliff, Louise Broadfood
* Froome, Quintana, Nibali
Steve Munro, Jason Churchward
* Froome, Quintana, Valverde
Dave Roest, Mick Cole
* Froome, Quintana, Bardet
Nicholas Free, Murray McClymont, Mark McClellan
* Froome, Cavendish, Sagan
Donna McAndrew
* Froome, Martin, Aru
Adam Harrison
* Froome, Quintana, van Garderen
Michael Scully, Ross McDougall, Ben Tye
* Froome, Nibali, van Garderen
Gaz Alcorn 
* Froome, Quintana, Mollema
Andrew Peacock
* Froome, Nibali, Porte
Trish Sutton-Davies
* Quintana, Nibali, Porte
Michael DeZwart
* Quintana, Contador, Aru
Terry Cocksedge
* Quintana, Porte, Pinot
Ted Alexander
* Quintana, Porte, Bardet
Andrea Alexander
* Quintana, Nibali, Meintjes
Kim Flesser
* Quintana, Bardet, Sagan
Roger Bower
* Aru, Porte, van Garderen
Renee Lubbers

Presentation Night 2016

The club held it’s annual presentation evening at the clubhouse on Saturday October 15th. Whilst medal winners and Club champions have been announced previously, the following is list of major trophy winners for 2017.
Soldiers Honour                    Grant Rowan
Bill Osbourne                        Mark McLennan
Bill Osbourne Div 2               Phil Gibson
Frank Papp Memorial            Mitch Neumann
Frank Papp Memorial Div 2  Les Preston
Presidents Award                 Peter McDonald
Most Improved Junior           Stephanie Leech
Aggregate Points                  Mitch Neumann
Most Improved Rider            Mitch Neumann
Volunteer of the Year           Kris Kersley

Our Club Champions are:
U11 Boys Myles Houghton
U13 Boys Bennett Boyd
U13 Girls Stephanie Leech
U17 Men Clinton Fraser
Elite Women Ashleigh Elliott
Masters 5 Women Trish Sutton-Davies
Elite Men Michael Bettany
Masters 1 Men  Murray McClymont
Masters 2 Men  Shane Crawford
Masters 3 Men  Dave Wadsworth
Masters 4 Men  Andy Patten
Masters 5 Men  Darryl Henry
Masters 6 Men  Gary Reddacliff
Masters 7 Men  Garry Lee
Masters 8 Men  Pete Gumbley
Masters 9 Men  Les Preston
The lucky draw for all members who volunteer at races was won by –
 RENE LUBBERS!! $500 richer for his efforts (and luck!!). Michael Murray won the 2nd prize of a free club kit.
Rene won the $500 Volunteer Random Draw

Junior Club Champions

Most Improved Junior - Stephanie Leech

Eddie, Tom and John

Club Champion lineup

Club Champion lineup with their new jerseys