2017 Soldier's Honour Handicap Results

This special race has been held each year for over 80 years, and commemorates the soldiers who served in war time, many from Hamilton Wheelers. A minute silence was held before the start of the race. We had a good size field of 80 riders this year.

First and third place came from the 12 minute (ahead of scratch) group, with returning member Scott Ferdinands getting the win in his first race back in a long time. Scott outsprinted Kim Flesser who started on go with the ever-young Ron Young. Despite losing several minutes to Ron last year, Fless managed to drop his 82 year old companion this time! There was a few seconds gap back to third place Michael Crowe also from the 12 minute group, then a big pack of 25 riders from various groups crossed the line 14 seconds behind.

Fastest time of 1:04:54 was awarded to Anthony Sibraa from the fast chopping block group, who managed to keep their initial 4 minute gap over the scratchies, but this was later realised to be an error.

Fastest time went to Shane Crawford 1:04:54 - sorry about the mix up Shane!

Fastest Lady of the day went to Shannon Proffit in a very impressive 1:05:30.

First Lady across the line was Britt Dutton in the main pack in 16th place (1:05:54).

2017 Soldiers Honour Handicap from Adam on Vimeo.

Thanks to our team of volunteers including:
Chief Commissaire: Pete McDonald
Assistant Commissaire:Darryl Baker
Timekeeper: Gary Alcorn
Signon, Marshalls, Vehicles: Mark Creaby, Jo Sinclair (for Norm), Gerard Roborg-Sondergaard, Ted and Andrea Alexander, Scott Meridith, Adam Robinson.

You can check out some of the riders on the Strava 'Fly-by' (Skip to 7 mins)

Sorry about the photo!