Belbaker Bus Charters Twilight Criterium Series 2022/23 Round 6 Seniors Results 8th Feb 2023

Juniors Results from 2nd Feb (Senior race washed out)

Belbaker Bus Charter Twilight Series Wrap-up - Vice Captain Kim Flesser

The 2022/23 Wednesday Twilight Series was another great success.
Overall the club would like to express it's thanks to all the club officials, volunteers, riders and especially our club sponsor Adam Baker and Belbaker Bus Charter. Adam provided all the great leaders jerseys and fantastic cash prizes. The jerseys were hotly contested throughout the whole competition, with leaders' positions changing a number of times throughout the comp.

Thank you also to our Club Handicapper Pete Kelly, for processing many new grading applications and making sure riders were appropriately graded to ensure close competition.
Our first attempt at round 6 of the series was unfortunately a wash-out except for the juniors. Well done to Elliot King (Junior B) and Ren Wei Tsen (Junior C) for winning their championships. 

Junior B Series Winner Elliot King

Junior C Series Winner Ren Wei Tsen

Our final round was a great success with plenty of break-away action as riders close to the leader board desperately chased the double series points on offer.
D Grade - Matt Smart and Richard Frogatt kept everyone honest with a strong break-away from the get-go. While they were caught just before the finish, at least they shared a few prime prizes. As usual Tannae Rafter and Lance Chamberlain battled it out in a very close sprint (with Axel Martin right up there also). Lance took out he win, and unfortunately for Tannae, took out the Belbaker series leader on a count-back on the number of wins. Well done also to Morgan Farley on a fine sprint to win the women's prime.

D Grade Sprint Finish

C Grade - Throughout the series, Kurt Jacobs had won the leaders jersey, lost it and came good to win the race and the jersey back again. Of course Finn Sleigh was again hot on his heels with a fine second place. It was great to see Finn back racing after his nasty fall and lots of spilled claret on the track last Sunday!

B Grade -  Well done to Will Heath who executed a fine solo breakway to easily win this race...welcome to A Grade, Will! Shannon Duggan again showed his fine sprinting ability to lead the pack and secure his series win. Shannon has also been given a tap on the shoulder by the club's handicapper! It was great to see the women battling it out in B Grade also, with Imogen Alton, Alisha Wells and Sophie Malowiecki sharing the podium positions.

B Grade Overall Series Winners
A Grade - After Craig Wiggins' failure to gain any points in round 5, he well and truly made amends with a fine sprint finish to take out the series. Craig started from a fair way back, but he really has a world class sprint and is definitely a rider to watch over the coming years. Hopefully Craig won't be tempted to retire early after winning the big cash prizes available for both primes, the finish and the series! Considering all the primes and wins he had overall, he should be good for a loan! Ewan McPherson and James Holland rounded out the places in this race.

A Grade Podium

A Grade Overall Series 1st and 3rd place


The four overall series winnners in A,B,C&D Grades
Again, many thanks to all the Hamilton Wheelers volunteers and riders from all clubs who made this series such a great event. Of course well done also to our tireless President Wayne Wilson for his excellent work as our race caller and MC.

Kim Flesser (Fless)