Round 3 of the 'Nicol Jackson' Women's Series - Lakeside Aug 11th 2012

A Grade
1st Jessica Toghill (HPRW)
2nd Simone Ground (Balmoral)
3rd Rachel Edwards (Uni)
Overall Series Winner -  Simone Grounds (39 points)
B Grade
1st Dyane Hannan (FFAST)
2nd Sally Duncombe (Lifecycle)
3rd Lisa Deneen (HPRW)
Overall Series Winner - Dyanne Hannan (36 points)
C Grade
1st Laura Ritson (FFAST)
2nd Maggie Egan (HPRW)
Overall Series Winner - Laura Ritson (42 points)
D Grade
1 Louise Broadfoot (HPRW)
2 Lyn Bridge (HPRW)
3 Helen Start (3 day licence)
Overall Series Winner - Lyn Bridge (42 points)
Full points are available HERE
There was some die hard racing at Round 3 of the Nicol Jackson Women's Series held at Lakeside Raceway on August 11th.  The westerly winds made for smaller fields on the day - but overall the Women's Series has been another HUGE success with 104 entries recieved over the 3 rounds.  On hand on Saturday to present prizes to round 3 competitors was Jim Collins from Aspley Bike Hub - and we thank Jim for his ongoing support of this event.  We were also most fortunate to have on hand Neil Jackson (Nicol's husband), who spoke candidly about Nicol's ongoing journey with Motor Neurone's Disease and her love for competitive cycling.  We are proud that this series has become a vehicle honour a woman like Nicol, and HPRW along with all those who have competed this year wish Nicol, Neil and their family all the best for the journey that lays ahead.
In chilly conditions on Saturday A Grade saw a 3 rider breakaway survive for most of the race (which was tough in the wind) - with the Prime won by Simone Grounds and the win ultimately going to Jessica Toghill,  Rachel Edwards from Uni came in 3rd and Lauren Lever riding for MB cycles came in 4th.
B Grade ladies had a tough job to reel in the lead that Dyane Hannan from Data 3 Racing had heading into this race, however Sally Duncome from the Lifecycle armada gave it a good crack.  HPRW rider Lisa Deneen sprinted hard for the line to take out 3rd edging out Karen McPhail-Bell from Logan whose legs had already delivered her a win for the Prime.
As C & D Grade fields were smaller this round, no Preme's were awarded but the smaller fields also meant there was no where to hide from the westerley winds.  Laura Riston from Ffast took out the win C grade with Maggie Egan from HPRW taking out 2nd place.  Some new recruits in D grade were all smiles with Louise Broadfoot from HPRW taking the win from Lyn Bridge and Helen Stark taking out 3rd after coming back from injury.
The overall series winners each took home a $50 Cash Bonus and these went to:
  • Balmoral's Simone Grounds in A grade on 39 points
  • Dyane Hannan from Ffast's Data 3's Racing team in B grade on 36 points
  • Laura Ritson from Ffast in C grade on 42 points
  • HPRW star recruit Lyn Bridge in D grade.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank our event partners - Vault Accountants, Boomtime, Graf-X, ActivCycle Coaching, Aspley Bike Hub, Cycle Physio and the University of Qld Cycling Club and Vittoria Coffee for their commitment to women's cycling and their support of this event.  Please remember to support them back when you get the chance.
I would also like to take this opportunity to thank HPRW club volunteers, marshalls and commissaires for their ongoing committment to increasing female participation in cycling and for getting behind this much needed initiative.
We are already looking forward to next year's event - and are open to any ideas you may wish to throw on the table that may improve your racing experience.  Let us know your feedback so that we can endeavour to tailor the event to better suit your needs to ensure that it remains a regular feature on the Qld racing calendar.
Ride safely and take care on the roads
Cheers the team @ HPRW